1st Yash Chopra Memorial Award to Bharat Ratna Lata Mangeshkar

Union Minister for Information & Broadcasting Manish Tewari presented the first Yash Chopra Memorial Award to India’s legendary singer Lata Mangeshkar at a star studded function in Mumbai on Saturday evening. Presenting the award, Mr Tewari said ” Lata Mangeshkar blessed with the beautiful voice is the pride of Indian music industry. It gives me immense pleasure to confer the first Yash Chopra award on her.”

Mr Tewari in his address described the Indian film industry as a true cultural ambassador and called upon the film fraternity to zealously guard the liberal space.

Dedicated to the memory of veteran director Yash Chopra, the award carries  a cheque  of Rs. 10 lakhs (One Million) and a citation. Instituted by the TSR Foundation of Dr T Subbarami Reddy, the award will be given every year to persons in recognition of their outstanding contribution in the field of art and culture.
Lata Mangeshkar’s career started in 1942 and has spanned over seven decades. She has recorded songs for over a thousand Hindi films and has sung songs in over 36 regional Indian and foreign languages. Lata Mangeshkar has won several awards and honors, including Padma Bhushan (1969), Dada Saheb Phalke Award (1989), Maharashtra Bhushan Award (1997), Padma Vibhushan (1999), NTR National Award (1999), Bharat Ratna (India’s Highest Civilian Award in the year 2001),   and  three National Film Awards. In 2008, she was given “One Time Award for Lifetime Achievement” to commemorate the 60th anniversary of India’s independence 1996.

The Jury for the first Yash Chopra Award comprised Mr. Anil Kapoor, Ms. Hema Malini, Ms. Simi Garewal and Dr. Reddy. Besides the members of the jury, Union Minister for Heavy Industries Praful Patel,  Akshay Kumar, Rani Mukherjee, Anoushka Sharma, Subhash Ghai, Sridevi and Boney Kapoor, Alka Yagnik and Ms Pammi Chopra  were among those present.

DSC_9155 DSC_9159 DSC_9160

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *