NCRMI to open new centre for modernisation of Coir sector

Chief Minister Shri Oommen Chandy will inaugurate the National Coir Research Management Institute’s (NCRMI) Advanced Centre for Automated Microbial Characterization at its Kudappanakunnu campus here on October 21.


The initiative is part of the ongoing efforts to enhance research and development activities in the coir sector across Kerala as part of the growing competition in this field.


Two technical sessions on ‘Solid phase flow cytometry—In analytical microbiology’ and ‘Identification and strain typing guidelines’ will be held for microbiologists as part of the inauguration of the new centre.

Based on its inference that automation in microbiology especially in the characterization of micro organisms is the need of the hour, the NCRMI has set up state-of-the-art equipment at the microbiology laboratory for automated identification and characterization of the microorganisms. The current technology used for identification is time consuming and laborious necessitating automation.


The facility ensures identification of fungi, bacteria and actinomycetes; biochemical characterization; genotypic characterization and phylogenic analysis; and fast, rapid and mass identification of micro organisms.


Minister for Revenue, Coir Shri Adoor Prakash said that the new facility will pave way for a qualitative change in the coir research and development areas across the State. It will help producers opt for scientific production techniques. The initiative will also ensure supply of advanced and quality products in the market, he said.


Shri Adoor Prakash, Minister for Revenue and Coir, will preside over the inaugural function at 9 a.m. Shri K Muraleedharan, MLA, will deliver the keynote address.


Shri Abdul Gafur Haji, Vice Chairman of Apex Body for Coir; Dr. K. Madanan, Director of Coir Development; Smt Rekha Khanna, Managing Director of Biomerieux India; Shri A. K. Rajan, Chairman of KCWWFB; Shri Rajendra Prasad, Chairman of KSCC; Shri C. Venugopalan Nair, Chairman of Foam Mattings Ltd; Shri K. M. Raju, Chief Administrator of Coirfed; Adv. D. Bhanudevan, Executive Committee member of NCRMI; Shri John Chacko, president of FICEO; and Shri S. Murugan, ward counselor will speak on the occasion.  Smt Rani George, Secretary (Coir), Government of Kerala will offer the welcome address while Shri K. R. Anil, Director of NCRMI will propose the vote of thanks.


Dr. Peethambaran C. K; B. Suresh Kumar, Smt. Priyanka Sen are among the panel of experts attending the technical sessions beginning at 10 a.m. Shri K. Sreedharan, Controller of Administration, NCRMI, will propose the vote of thanks.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *