Calicut University to host SRIBS colloquium on organic chemistry

The Srinivasa Ramanujan Institute for Basic Sciences (SRIBS), a capacity building initiative of the Kerala State Council for Science Technology and Environment (KSCSTE) is organising a three-day national colloquium on Organic and Bioorganic Chemistry at Calicut University.

Eminent scientists from premier institutions in the country will come together for the colloquium which will be held at the University’s Department of Chemistry from October 24-26, 2013. They will lead sessions focusing on the principles of bioorganic chemistry ranging from the fundamental to the advanced, and will provide valuable insight into the challenges in the field.

Bioorganic chemistry is a fast growing discipline of chemistry that involves the study of biological processes using chemical methods and applies the principles and techniques of organic chemistry to address problems of biological importance and takes inspiration from biology to develop new chemical processes.

It finds wide applications mainly in the area of medicinal chemistry. Understanding the biological processes in terms of organic chemistry paves ways to the development of new and better therapeutics for many ailments such as cancer, Alzheimer’s disease, asthma etc.

Research in this area focuses on the study of enzymes, metabolic pathways, development of mechanism based enzyme inhibitors, elucidation of mechanism and structure etc., leading to the development of new drugs.

The programme is intended mainly for final year post-graduate students, research scholars in chemistry/biology and young faculty members of colleges/university departments who would like to pursue research in Bioorganic Chemistry.

Speakers at the colloquium include Prof. M Periasamy, FASc. FNA (University of Hyderabad); Prof. H. Ila, FASc, FNA,  (JNCSAR, Bangalore); Prof. H. Junjappa, FASc, FNA(Reva University, Bangalore); Prof. K.N. Rajasekharan (Kerala University, Thiruvananthapuram); Prof. S. Perumal (Madurai Kamaraj University); Prof. Rahul Jain ( National Institute of Pharm. Education & Research, Punjab); Prof. N.G. Ramesh, Prof. V. Haridas, IIT Delhi, New Delhi); Prof. G. Sekar ( IIT Madras); Dr. T.K. Sasikumar( Albany Molecular Research Institute, Hyderabad); Dr Akkattu T. Biju (NCL, Pune); Dr. A. K. Mohanakrishnan (University of Madras).

For more details and online registration visit: 

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *